top of page
  • Writer's pictureMonch Weller

[2] On Late Brunches: TWG Tea, Greenbelt 5

Updated: Oct 16, 2023

This review was originally published November 2, 2013. Luis, the store manager who accommodated me during this dining experience, has since left TWG Tea.


Ten years after writing this post, I paid the Greenbelt 5 mall a visit during one Sunday afternoon. I then asked the mall concierge where TWG Tea's old spot used to be, and was told that a Ralph Lauren boutique now occupies its space. I checked out the spot, and confirmed what the concierge told me.


As of writing, TWG Tea no longer operates tea salons in the Philippines. Truly the end of an era.

 

I previously went to TWG Tea at Rockwell Power Plant Mall and very much enjoyed my lunch. This was soon followed by an opportunity to visit their Greenbelt 5 branch, the very first one I saw. I went straight to Makati as soon as I finished getting my student driver's permit. Gold and brown hues welcomed me into the flagship store, lending a warm ambiance. I informed the receptionist that I'll be dining alone, so she led me to a corner table for some privacy. The manager then approached me and gave the menu. As I haven't had lunch yet at the time, I ordered their New York Breakfast Set -- Eggs Benedict with a side salad, orange or apple juice, and a pot of tea. I also asked for two scones with whipped cream and tea jelly.

The Eggs Benedict was nicely prepared, with the salmon's smoky flavor complimenting the poached egg's richness. The hollandaise sauce, however, makes the dish rather overwhelming; not even the side salad helped. But as someone who's into rich delights and one who does not eat this dish on a regular basis, I'll give this a passing mark. This is where the scones, with accompanying whipped cream and tea-infused jelly, come in. They counteracted the savory taste of the Eggs Benedict, with the raisins contributing an extra sweetness. If you're concerned with rather hard and crumbly scones, you can have them reheated before serving. Oh, before I forget: the apple juice's tartness is a good palate cleanser.

Now, to talk about the tea. I ordered Chocolate Earl Grey Tea first as this was the one most familiar to me, having ordered this one before. The aroma of bergamot masks the chocolate on the first pour, but adding sugar lets the chocolate shine through. Its citrusy notes perfectly cut the savory taste of the Eggs Benedict. The Chocolate Earl Grey Tea ran empty in the middle of the meal, so I ordered Red Mint Chocolate Truffle Tea for a change. Red tea is made from the leaves of the rooibos plant (Aspalathus linearis) native to South Africa. TWG recommends that red teas be served cold, and I should have followed their suggestion. The mint and chocolate truffle conflicted with the rooibos, which resulted in a champagne-like flavor. Sadly, I'm not a fan of flavors overpowering each other so this tea didn't appeal to me. The third tea I tried was New York Breakfast Tea, which blended the brisk English Breakfast tea with chocolate. Luis, the manager, suggested this as an alternative to the Chocolate Tea which was out of stock that time. Truth be told, I didn't taste any chocolate at all. I appreciate how TWG serves this with milk - the way breakfast teas are traditionally served.

I ordered four macarons -- two pieces each of the Napoleon Tea & Caramel and Earl Grey Fortune & Chocolate -- to cap off this brunch. These small treats made from almond flour and popularized by the French bakery Laduree are very good accompaniments to hot tea with milk. Under no circumstance should sugar be added, as the macarons themselves are sweet enough. Again, the total amount I paid for this meal was not a concern as the meal was definitely worth every penny. Before I left, Luis asked me what I thought about the teas I tried. I asked if the New York Breakfast really had chocolate in it as the pot I had did not show the flavors. He volunteered to show me the canister for that blend so I could see for myself; it did have cocoa! I took note of that and promised to try it the next time I visit.


Check out TWG Tea's main website to find out more about their tea offerings. Until the next review, bon appetit!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page