top of page
  • Writer's pictureMonch Weller

[36] On Denouements: La Creperie, Loyola Heights

Updated: Oct 8, 2022

La Creperie was among the restaurants I visited during the blog's early days – starting with its Robinsons Galleria and EDSA Shangri-La Plaza branches.

The homegrown restaurant opened a branch years ago along Esteban Abada Street in the Loyola Heights area, a stone's throw away from the college where I graduated.

I managed to visit the location in 2015 following an annual physical exam for a job I was with during that time. Having had lunch before heading over there, I opted to order two dessert crepes during my visit. The restaurant was tucked in a hidden corner of Loyola Heights, with its gray cobblestone walls giving it a more rural feel. Different paintings adorned its walls, which contributed to the provincial aura – in the middle of the urban jungle.

Just like my visits to its other branches, I experienced firsthand La Creperie's consistently fast service. A staff member promptly led me to a table and asked the crepes I wanted. It so happened that there was a free coffee promotion that time. Patrons were treated to a free cup of coffee for every dessert crepe ordered from 2:00 to 5:00 in the afternoon. I availed of this promotion, letting me save P200!


I ordered two of the establishment's dessert crepes, having tried the savory versions before. Barely have I written a full sentence in my writing journal when my two orders arrived – the Churro Crepe and the Crepas de Cajetas.

The Churro Crepe is similar to its namesake Mexican snack, a basic crepe topped with sugar and cinnamon. It came with two cups of hot chocolate – the bigger one for drinking and the smaller one for dipping. The crepe can be dipped in the smaller cup of hot chocolate, or eaten as is with a follow-up sip from the larger chocolate cup.


While the crepe itself is bland without the sugar and cinnamon topping, the hot chocolate cups have the right balance of bitter and sweet. They also boast of having the consistency of tsokolate eh, which is tantamount to thick chocolate perfect for dipping. Dunking the crepes in the chocolate imbues it with the drink's earthy taste and adds dimension. This dessert crepe is perfect for diners who either prefer experimentation or crave churros from Dulcinea, another local restaurant serving Spanish cuisine.

Meanwhile, the Crepas de Cajetas prides itself in being a Mexican specialty – or so La Creperie's menu says. Its name is taken from the Mexican confection cajeta, which is caramelized goat's milk. It consists of the basic crepe topped with whipped cream, dulce de leche, and chopped walnuts.


Breaking open the crepe reveals the dulce de leche filling inside. The rich caramelized milk served as the foil to the walnuts, which contributed saltiness and texture to the dish. The whipped cream contributed a subtle sweetness that carried the dulce de leche's taste and tempered it at the same time.

I mentioned the free coffee earlier and, since I ordered two dessert crepes, I also received two cups of it. I opted not to avail of the creamer and sugar as the crepes I tried were already sweet. Typically, I put sugar and creamer in my coffee – but this trip to La Creperie introduced me to the wonders of the brew drank as is.

 

This 2015 trip to La Creperie unfortunately did not have a repeat, as the establishment closed its doors for good a year later. European delicatessen Earle's took over its spot, but eventually shuttered likewise.


As of writing, neo-Japanese restaurant Tetsuo occupies La Creperie's old spot. Meanwhile, La Creperie opened another branch along Katipunan Avenue Extension – this time, a stone's throw away from Temple Drive in Quezon City.


A branch of Craft Coffee Revolution once occupied the spot beside La Creperie, before it became Ella and the Blackbird. Unfortunately, it joined the many restaurants who succumbed to business closures brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic.


Truly, nothing is permanent.


Until the next review, bon appetit!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page